Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries

6:25 p.m. - 2003-07-03
leave a message
time, i think, to change my phone number.

it isn't as if many people call my land line anyway - or at least, very many people that want to talk to me.

i do, however, receive a seemingly endless stream (ok, maybe half a dozen calls a day, during the fairly random assortment of hours i'm home) of calls for a hospital, a clinic, a hardware store or a garden centre, though generally only for one of the above at a time.

the most recent was from the very pleasant and well-spoken Mrs. Finch, whose husband is in recovery on the 4th floor, and who was hoping i could put her call through to his room. I told her that this was a private residence, and at any rate had only 2 floors. she said she was sorry to have disturbed me, but i could tell she didn't believe a word i said. so i had no choice but to go online before she called back. now she'll just get my voicemail, and most people seem to be able to sort that out reasonably well, and just leave me long, pregnant pauses, occasionally punctuated by muttered swearing, and then hang up. occasionally someone is persistent enough to leave a message, mostly involving hospitals and clinics. i guess something about failing health is enough to short circuit the brain.

or else there's something about my voicemail that leads people to believe that i may, in fact, be a hospital.

maybe i should just stop answering the phone.

 

 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!