Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries

9:51 p.m. - 2004-06-04
laundry and locksmiths

had a little adventure yesterday, midway between the doing of laundry (basement) and the drinking of coffee whilst watching the sun set over the city (commercial drive). somewhere around the point of heading out to wash the truck.

(my roommate just wandered into my room whining "i just want to watch tv and get paid", then burst into slightly mad laughter. and then went on to elaborate that she wanted to watch tv, and that getting paid was just the gravy. and that you can't make gravy without cooking the turkey. and that her brain was the turkey. and then she wandered out again.)

anyway. my adventure. opened front door, decided to go back and get sweater, closed door behind me, door made unusual click. hmmm, says i. that's an unusual click. got sweater, returned to front door, tried (and failed) to open door. a quick note at this point about our front door; rather than the typical turn-doorknob-to-open-door principle, my roomie has decided on the less conventional (but no less effective) method of taping the doorknob in the permanently open position, and relying entirely on the (very old) deadbolt as both security and access. simple, straightforward - from outside you need a key, from inside you just turn the bolt... except... today i went downstairs (after the aforementioned click) and the bolt wouldn't turn. so i tried it again. several times. after a few minutes i admitted to myself that i was locked inside my house, and fought off a small bout of hysterical laughter. i mean really, what do you do in a situation like that? call the fire department? a locksmith? your mom?

no, i got my screwdriver and took the bolt off the door - problem solved, door now opens. er. half solved. also managed to take lock apart, repair damage, reassemble lock, and replace on door. i felt so proud... i wasn't locked inside anymore - i felt like a kid who's just been told she isn't grounded anymore.

so yeah. my little adventure. woo woo.

 

 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!