Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries

9:29 p.m. - 2004-07-20
bleeding
acdc, judas priest. a man rollerblading along seawall, playing the harmonica and the perfect ocean backdrop to support any sort of madness or art.

when i grow up, i'll be so many, many things.

er. none of those are things i plan on being though. they're just... things. like so many other things, but different because, at some moment this week, i was aware of them - in considering them, actively, consciously, they become for a moment more real. does that makes sense to anyone other than me?

doing all the usual (for me) moving things, including an indulgent trip to ikea and the mandatory rental of a steam cleaner for the rugs. (note; when i am financially happy and can live anywhere i damn well please, there shall be lovely slate tiles with radiant heat, beautiful reclaimed hardwood floors, and the occasional throw rug, but no more with dirt-attracting, disease-ridden, nappy, nasty carpet.) also, the usual trip to the mennonite thrift store, with lovely little old german ladies and reasonable prices on decent used furniture. today's adventure brought me a receiver and an ancient set of toshiba speakers, as well as two 2-drawer filing cabinets, (one old, heavy and green, one new, light and beige) for under $50. so, with the addition of a y-adapter, i have music and a sectional dresser. so pleasing. the only downside is the realization that the bottoms of filing cabinets are razor sharp... this wasn't a case of "oh look, a bit of blood", it was "try not to get blood all over the store"... and blood was, indeed, pooling in the palm of my hand and dripping all over in a lovely brilliant red. it was, of course, my right hand, and spending the day not much using the first two fingers on my right hand has been challenging. i felt like an extra-special gimp brushing my teeth left handed. *sigh*

i've finally stopped bleeding enough to take the bandages off (after 8 hours), so that's good news... though i shall continue to clean wearing violently pink latex gloves to protect my skin from the power of mr. clean.

er. i shall also have to do something about acquiring internet service in my new home, as i was unable to send that yesterday... on the plus side, i hardly bled at all this morning, and had a lovely drive in the rain as well. i'm really not looking forward to pedestrian-hood this winter.

 

 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!