Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries

6:48 p.m. - 2004-08-23
baba

i just talked to dad. his mother died today. this afternoon. half an hour ago, maybe. and i can't stop the tears and i feel so helpless. there's just no way i'll make the funeral, and although missing rus' funeral didn't upset me so, the idea that i won't be able to say goodbye to such an amazing, wonderful, courageous and strong woman makes me feel worthless.

dad says not to come - that baba would have insisted that school was the most important thing, and i know he's right. i can hear her, in english and ukranian, saying just that. and even if i could, there's so much i've promised and committed to with the wedding on saturday, so much that can't be delegated.

i know it'll be ok. and i know she would tell me that. and i know that i can say goodbye from anywhere, at any time, and that's she's always just a thought and a heartbeat away, and that the strength and wonder of her will never die inside me. and i can't stop crying.

i was named after her. not many people know that. i couldn't be more proud to carry her name. i have to go to ocean now - so much salt water must help with so many tears.

 

 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!