Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries

1:48 p.m. - 2004-11-20
Rockin out to Laibach
The last few months of shows in Vancouver have been amazing, and it's been ages since I've been so motivated to get out so often. Having said that, I almost didn't go out last night, because the temptation to stay in and be angry at Chris for standing me up was pretty strong. I know he works long hours, I know this isn't one of his favourite bands, and I know he wasn't keen on going in the first place, but I'm still pissed that he didn't decide until the last minute.
So I sat here, blasting Lords of Acid and sulking, and then decided to ask Jason instead. (Full points to him for being ready to go at no notice, especially when he had to work today, while I had the luxury of sleeping in.)
So very very glad I did - basking in the bass while military babes beat their drums and an angry German covers Sympathy For The Devil is truly my idea of a good time. There's probably something important to be gleaned there, but I'm not interested in exploring it just now.

Ministry on Monday was an equally excellent show, though in different ways. Laibach didn't have a pit (just as well, as I was in grim shape after bailing hard on my way to school yesterday morning. wet leaves + downhill + too much speed + corner = disaster.) but Ministry's was pretty rough. I stayed out for the openers (OFTM, with an overly pretentious singer - face it boy, you're no Billy Idol - and enjoyably showy drummer, and Hanzel und Gretyl - very fine German punk with some good back story and reasonable stage presence. Imagine if Molotov were German; now turn it inside out, and you might have an idea what this sounded like. Or maybe not.) but dove in once Al appeared onstage. Once again Chris did a marvelous job of covering my ass in the pit, even after saying he was too sore to get in, and it was nice to know he was there.

Earlier in the night I sent him after a tall brunette who certainly seemed to have been trying to catch his eye, but she shot him down so spectacularly that he decided she must have been aiming for me.
I was selfishly glad to keep his company for the rest of the night, and in any case dubious about what comes of picking up in bars, but glad we've got to the point where it's ok for that to happen. (and yes, just a little bit curious about whether I'd have had more luck with her, but I like my girls smaller and lankier. Er. You know, if I liked girls...)

There's a lot going on in my mind about dating these days, but it isn't ready to be articulated yet. I set my standards pretty high, and sometimes wonder if what I target is out of my league.

 

 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!