Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries

6:05 p.m. - 2005-04-28
interview time
Job interview time. The semester is almost over, and we're all out looking for summer internships. The position I really wanted was with a Burnaby company - it's not the most glamorous place to work, but what they do is really cool. (or at least I think it's really cool) The Burnaby incinerator burns garbage, and produces both steam for the neighboring plant and power which it sells to the hydro company. So no, I'm not excited about the garbage, but I'm pretty interested in the plant. It's using state-of-the-art (and what kind of weird expression is that anyway?) pollution control measures, and produces far less greenhouse gas than the local natural-gas-burning plant while simultaneously taking care of some of our landfill and producing a useable byproduct; the ash is used in concrete. It's a great facility. It's an alternative energy source, and the employees I've talked to (while on tour there) seem to really enjoy it.
Earlier this week they made phone calls to set up student interviews, and didn't call me. Much disappointed was I. When a fellow student was uninterested in going in for an interview, it seems one of my profs interceded to get me that interview slot instead. It was clear from the tone that they were dubious about my physical ability, but *I* know I can handle strenuous and labor intensive jobs, and I know that my references will reassure them of that. I also think that they were otherwise both impressed and pleased with my answers - I felt pretty good about the whole thing too. I'm a little wary because I know I wasn't one of their top choices, but even if I didn't get one of the positions available, I still think it was a good interview.
I have another one tomorrow with Harmac, but I really *don't* want to be in Nanaimo this summer.
I'm gnawing on this in my head - that they didn't call me for an interview, but agreed to give me one. That they don't think I'm big or strong enough. That they laughed and smiled and were more than just polite, they were downright friendly. That I want the job. That I don't want the job if they don't want me there. That I don't know what I want.
I gotta stop overanalyzing.

 

 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!