Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries

3:06 p.m. - 2005-05-23
don't panic
Crios and I saw Hitchhiker's Guide on the weekend, and... it was ok. Some disappointing scenes/deletions/changes, and some very fun interpretations of the text. Of course, I'm a huge, geeky Douglas Adams fan, so it could never really be good enough, as far as I'm concerned, but it was still enjoyable.
Besides, Crios and I rarely get out.
I'm still trying to get him behind the wheel of my car (though occasionally common sense screams that this is a bad idea) so's he can learn to drive. After all, he's 30 and never learned how. I know it's a mark of my privilege, but I can't imagine not driving... or at least, not knowing how. I think most people in Canada grow up and learn to drive as a matter of course these days, but there are people/neighbourhoods where that isn't true, and many, many countries where it isn't true either. We're such a materially rich society that we take so many little things like this for granted, and it's easy to forget the privilege of being able to get where we want when we want whilst simultaneously destroying the environment is an undeserved one. Makes me wonder how many more generations will grow up with fossil fueled and individual vehicles before we move forward into useful, green mass transit. (probably too many)
I guess that makes my car one of my guilty pleasures, like good coffee or ice cream for breakfast, though on a slightly larger scale.
Slightly.

Sarcasm is the lowest form of humour.

Last 6 exams this week, followed by an intensively panic-y 2 weeks wherein I shall be simultaneously studying for my government exams and also prepping my first film job in almost a year.
I talked with Mark today, and we danced around the subject of who's going to be propsmaster, and who will be the assistant. As usual, I'll be doing most of the prep, which arguably ought to get me propsmaster wages for at least that much of the job, but since I'd much rather relinquish control onset to him, he'll likely take the higher wage once we go to camera, and that's fine with me. We just need to clear the shifting rates with production. And figure out what we're going to do with our strange, as-yet-unseen products. And see some storyboards, and talk to the director, and hope and pray that the pilot Mark's shooting on the island wraps before we go to camera, as I'll be stepping off for a day early on to go write the gov't exams.
Yeah. I thrive on stress.
Besides, I can still afford to fail these finals without failing the courses, so that's a load off... but... obviously I'd prefer not to do that. And two of the 3 classroom finals (the other 3 are online) roughly match parts one and two of the gov't exams, so it's also a decent indication of how I can expect to do in two weeks.
No pressure.

Maybe just a little.

 

 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!