Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries

10:42 p.m. - 2005-06-05
grr

The last weeks have been busy - finishing up classes and final exams, prepping for the upcoming film job, trying to study for my government exams, and even trying to have a bit of a love life on top of that.
And things have been falling into place, more or less. I got my marks back, and am pretty much pleased with all of them. There's even a chance a bit of scholarship money will come out of them, that's how well I did; it gives me a nice warm fuzzy feeling. Good thing too, as I need something to offset the stress. For starters there's the low level government exam stress. I have no reason to think I'll fail, but I still don't have any time to study and that makes me stress. Then there's work stress. Film is an inherently stressful business, with constant changes and issues and problems and whatever, and although it's all working out so far, it's still been a lot of very long days trying to get too much done without enough guidance.
Now I get a phone call from the guy who's supposed to be on this job with me, and he's bailing. Now. We only go to camera in two days, Mark, it's not as though that puts me in any sort of extremely uncomfortable and difficult position or anything. I only have to pull another props guy out of my ass at 10 on a sunday night so I have enough time to bring him up to speed on the job, and explain to production why it's all suddenly changed when I don't know myself, and somehow come out of it not looking like an incompetent fool even though it's Mark bailing, not me.
Yeah. No stress there.

So I'm a little edgy right now. And a little bit in a mood to take the pointier, more multifaceted and preferably motorized toys from this shoot and stick them up Mark's ass. But other than that, things are peachy-keen.

And my mom's been visiting - I took her to work with me all week and everybody thought she was lovely, and on top of having her company I also got to put her to work unpacking boxes and organizing and doing inventory and generally doing the thousand little things that made it possible for us to work 10 and 12 hours days instead of me alone working 14 and 16 hour days and being even crankier. It's been a lot of fun, and I'm very glad she's here right now.
She's headed home tomorrow morning, and then I'll have nothing at all keeping me from screaming and shouting and kicking things for a bit.
Anyway. Time to try to sleep, so I'm well rested for taking a piece out of Mark tomorrow.

 

 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!