Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries

4:01 p.m. - 2005-09-06
my bathroom smells like hippies
wow.
The last couple of weeks have been a bit busy. Film is even busier than usual, and it seems like every warm body that knows how to drive is working. I had to turn down a handful of really tasty jobs because school started so early, and I'm already regretting it, a bit: the first week back was essentially useless, other than Sanja's classes, and those are the ones I'm just not worried about... yet.
The last job was with Jason (prince of darkness), and a lot of fun, but... damn. It's been years, and he still has the same effect on me, still makes me swoon and go weak in the knees, and he knows it. Does things like stand behind me and run one finger down the back of my neck, because he knows it will make me freeze (and occasionally forget to breathe.) My consolation is that I have a similar effect on him. That's one of the reasons we don't work together any more - we both have some motivating factors to keep us from ending up naked in the back of the work truck, but some days it almost wasn't enough.

Anyway. There's a few dollars in my account, and a few more coming, so the beast is kept from the door a few weeks longer. Very nice.
The door has also changed, and although my new place is one of the dreaded basement suites, it isn't so bad... now that I've put so much into it. Oh. And Idiotmilk? I'm sorry I ever had anything but pure and idealized respect for you and your house-renovating misadventures. In the last week I've repaired the toilet, sinks (taps, drains, and connecting plumbing) and bathtub faucets, repainted half the place, cleaned, scrubbed, mopped and vacuumed until my brain is spinning, *and* rewired the kitchen and bathroom. (note to aspiring electricians; splices done with duct tape are not up to code. extension cords sticking through holes in the wall masquerading as outlets are not up to code. wiring two rooms in series with each other is not up to code. sticking four circuits and the fridge into a single open box is not up to code, especially when removing the fridge from its fridge-hole causes the wires to get entangled in the cooling coils on the back of the fridge, plunging the whole kitchen into darkness. just so you know.)
In exchange for Martin's assistance as a qualified electrician in rewiring the place, I've also spent a day with him out on the farm, drilling and hanging some great big, heavy, rusty pieces of channel iron on one of his sheds, in an attempt to make it stand up straight. We still have one piece left to hang, but so far it looks like we're winning. Once that's all up, he's going to get me welding a bunch of supporting pieces along the uprights to discourage the horses... several of whom seem to think they're beavers, judging by the way they've been gnawing on the beams. Having not spent a lot of time around thousand-pound mammals, this seems a bit odd, but I've been assured it's perfectly normal. (and thoroughly annoying, from the viewpoint of those who end up repairing the damage.)

Anyway. Back to being studious for me. Joy.

 

 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!