Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries

7:00 a.m. - 2006-03-04
sliding

Sharing my space is slowly becoming acceptable to all the little reptile parts of my brain that don't like to compromise or play nicely. They are learning that having a dear, patient and thoughtful guy who cooks frequently and fabulously is a small price to pay for always having to do the dishes. We don't fight over bathroom time, and he hasn't been here long enough to make an issue over who cleans what. Poor wee Weasel almost became an issue though - somewhere between stress, change, cold and who-knows-what-else, he got kinda sick there, and finding a vet that does weasels isn't an easy thing, even in a city this size. Thankfully, he seems to have pulled through just fine.
I'm of the opinion that he was just lonely, locked in a little room all day, and thought he was being punished but couldn't understand why. I think the stress made him sick. Now that we're both making an effort to play with him and socialize with him as much as possible, he seems much better. And once the last few construction-type weasel-proofing things are done, it looks like the whole apartment will be safe for him unsupervised, which ought to help his so-called sanity too.
There's only one midterm left, coming up on wednesday, so I have all weekend to weasel-proof, as well as to clean up the chaos that my desk has become. It's kinda amazing that I can still find my computer underneath it all...

Crios' first test was last week. Even though he's a smart guy, he was really stressing about how well he'd do. He says it's mostly because he's been out of school for 14 years, and I can see how that makes sense. The 96% he got made him feel a lot better about the next 21 weeks. (Damn. Only 21 weeks? I wish I'd had the foresight to take such a short program... but wait. I had the foresight to take a program that doesn't involve inhaling toxic fumes all day. Yes. Was it worth the extra 70 weeks of school? Probably.)
I think it's good for his mental health to be hanging out with a bunch of guys all day. I've met them, and they seem like a nice bunch of guys, mostly. Of course, it only took a few days of their company for him to start smoking and drinking more again, but... well, that's his business, not mine. We aren't sharing our money, just our expenses, so he's free to spend his on beer if he likes. He's smart enough to budget. He's also smart enough not to smoke in the house. And although I "should" care if he's smoking...
It's strange. On one hand, I'm sorry that he tried so hard, and that he managed to quit, and now he's gone back to smoking again. And knowing all the health risks, I wish he wasn't doing this to himself... or to me. But on an immediate level? The smell doesn't bother me, I don't think I have any right to tell him what to do, or to ask him to change for me. The worst part though... the part I hate to admit...
Watching him smoke is hot. He's one of those guys with long, beautiful fingers, and sensuous lips, and he just looks so damn sexy with a cigarette in his hand. I hate that part.

 

 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!