Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries

10:10 a.m. - 2005-04-01
smoking

Crios would be so much nicer to sleep with if he didn't grind his teeth in his sleep; it's gotten a lot worse in the last week, which I imagine is related to the added stress of quitting smoking. On the plus side, this is day 11 and (IMHO) he's doing great. Maybe a little moody, but that's understandable. He's certainly being far less of an obstinate jerk than he always was when he'd make empty quitting-smoking gestures. (average attempts lasted less than 24, but he'd be a moody bastard for much longer than that)
Seems like a large part of it is about really *wanting* to quit, as opposed to doing it out of misplaced guilt, or the desire to impress someone, or any one of a thousand other reasons - I've known three people who have decided that they've smoked long enough, time to stop, and they all successfully quit - it never looked easy, but they all managed. I've also known dozens of others (mostly those who succumbed to outside pressures) who made the gestures while protesting all along that they enjoy smoking too much to stop.
That's fine - I'm not saying you can't enjoy smoking - but if you enjoy it so much, maybe you aren't ready to quit yet? Just a thought...
Anyway, I don't smoke, so I'm hardly qualified to rant about it. Not that I'm letting that stop me, but... you know.

He says that once he's all done with quitting and the patch and everything else (another week or two - he's decided the 8+ week withdrawal process is too much of a money grab, and not really necessary) then he'll be ready to learn to drive; I promised that when I bought my own car, I'd teach him to drive. It's kinda unfortunate that he'll have to learn stick, but in the end it's a skill I think everybody should have - a trained monkey can drive auto better than most vancouver drivers can - but it's easier to learn one thing at a time.
Admittedly I'm biased - I learned to drive on automatics, then went on to manuals after I was comfortable with general driving. He's clever though, so I'm sure he'll pick it up quick. We're going to start with big empty parking lots and work our way up from there. Soon. Not today. Today we're going to see Sin City. Yay.
And now I'm going over there for 2nd breakfast.

 

 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!