Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries

6:01 p.m. - 2005-04-25
i wanna see you bellydance
How do you do it?
Listen up, all you belly dancing folk out there!
How do you *do* all that? My shoulders won't shake like that, my butt won't wiggle, I trip over my feet and tangle my fingers in my belt. Just when I think I've finally got something down, I look up from where I've been frantically watching my feet to ensure that they don't turn inside out, and everybody else is making their breasts do pushups.
I swear, if it weren't for video snippets like this I'd give up. Then again, it's exactly that sort of thing that makes me think I *should* give up now - how can I ever hope to move like that when I can't walk and chew gum at the same time?

*sigh*

You know, ilmomof3, this is all your fault. If you weren't so darn inspiring, I wouldn't be out every monday night grinding my teeth in frustration whilst trying to grind my hips in time with the music. Not that I'm complaining! I've been trying to work up the nerve to do this for years and years and years, but was always too intimidated; belly dancers are all beautiful and graceful and sexy and coordinated in the universe that is my mind. In fact, I'm convinced that they spring ready-made from the womb, fully able to dance. Despite knowing almost nothing about you, you still somehow register in my mind as a "real person" instead of one of those perfect, impossible dreams, and that gave me that little extra push I needed to sign up.
(not that I don't think you're darn near perfect, but... well, almost perfect is a completely different thing. I can aspire to that. Entirely perfect makes me want to throw up my hands in despair and go sleep on the beach.)
(anyway, the whole point is that you've inspired me to push my boundaries, and I'm very, very, very grateful, despite being constantly stymied by my own physical incompetence.)

Ok. Tonight is class number 3. Between spending hours this week scowling at the mirror and the unbelievable patience of my instructor, maybe tonight I'll learn to shimmy my shoulders. Wish me luck.

 

 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!